Saxonville Square in 1949

Here’s my Father shoveling snow in front of our apartment in Saxonville,  circa 1949. You can see The First National Store behind him, with a car parked in front.  To the right, on the corner of Concord and Danforth, is the Schaltenbrands drug store. There was another market up Elm St. called Patrunos Market. (Thanks to Jack Gallimore, long time resident for the update and information.)

Here’s my Mother, probably the same day standing on the other side of the house looking down Elm St toward the Roxbury Carpet Co.  

And finally, my Mother looking back at the camera in the springtime. Roxbury Carpet Co. behind her, trees in full blume.  

31 thoughts on “Saxonville Square in 1949

  1. bob says:

    I believe I lived in the same house you did for a few years. I lived on the corner of Elm St. and Water St. above the barber shop. I rented there for about 2 years when I was in my early twenties9around 1979-82, when I tended bar at the old Victoria Station.

  2. Dave says:

    We lived on the third floor, and I’m told in the winter, a glass of water on the nightstand would be found frozen in the morning. Saxonville Square looked like a great neighborhood back then. There were lots of Polish people, and many worked the Roxbury Carpet.

  3. Walter Lech says:

    I knew John and his mother Mary, at least as any youngster could, as I was growing up in Saxonville during the 30’s & 40’s.

    One day John was discarding an old table radio and asked if I wanted it. I cherished that radio for a long time until it finally died of old age.

  4. David says:

    I remember meeting you and your wife Mary, on a visit to your home, on Beacon St. ? in the late 1950s. Any anecdotes about the Roxbury Carpet Company would be great, as both my Mother and Grandmother worked there too.

  5. Alice J Gallimore ( Bigelow) says:

    I enjoyed seeing your pictures..
    My Husband and I grew up in Sax. My dad worked at Roxbury Carpet CO..many years,,
    My Husbands Father worked there also.
    We have many memories of saxonville..
    A Great town to grow up in……..
    Alice ..

  6. Jack Gallimore says:

    Enjoyed the photos. There is a small error in the description of the first photo. Actually, the building with the car in front would have been the old First National grocery store, where the post office was also located. The high bldg to the right is where Schaltenbrands drug store (Corner of Danforth st and Concord) and the town library would have been.. Patruno’s would have bee upfurther on Elm street next to Ewards Hall (Corner of Elm and Chestnut) Ahhh, the memories.

  7. Karen A. Jean ( Bigelow ) says:

    What a great trip in time and memories! I was born in 1950 and grew up on Purchase St, played on Johnson St, Water St. actually any street I wanted to back then.
    The falls were a daily thing to gaze at walking back and forth to school. Wintertime was fun when that spray blew over the bridge and froze….Boy they made good cars back then…when you did see one. Memorial Days were so wonderful in our town! All us school children were asked to bring in one long stemmed flower. I’d go across the street to Mrs. Gallimore’s house and ask her for one of her gorgeous Irises. She always gave me two, and told me to tell them one was from her, and one was from my ma. We’d all march to the square, all those flowers were collected in beautiful baskets by Charlie our gentle custodian. We’d sing patriotic songs and do readings. We really knew what Memorial Day was back then.
    Oh anyone find all the money I lost in Patruno’s wooden steps to his store? Those nickle mugs of cold root beer had me hooked.
    Karen ~

  8. Alice J Gallimore ( Bigelow) says:

    Many thoughts come to mind,,
    I roller skated down the Danforth st hill….Thought I would get killed!
    The Record Hops at the Hall..
    And as my sister wrote, Memorial day was a big memory,,
    The Hot Fudge sundaes at Patrunos,,,all of 25 cents,,with Nuts and cherry ..
    I got groceries at the Sparkle Super for my MOM…and my dad would stop at Tommys for a beer,,
    My Grandfather lived in the block on Danforth St,,,the very first apartment on your left going to the bridge,,
    AND Halloween!! We walked everywhere , were invited in to the houses….people wanted to see us,,
    I walked throught the woods to go skating at Winch park,,,no fears,,
    Life was GRAND,,,:)
    Allie

  9. Vikki says:

    I lived on Elm St. right across from the Baptist Church. My sister and myself went to Saxonville School just a little way up the street. Does anyone have any pictures of this area? I’d love to show them to my family. We now live in Rockford, IL.

    We’re missing Saxonvile & Framingham so much!!
    Vikki

    • joe heroux says:

      ya I also went to sax school too the wooden school and the brick school to I lived around the corner from you across from Roxbury carpet don’t know who you are Vicky ? knew most people back then the drennans the kers the mortons the ramseys the cox;s get back to me

  10. Ken Ryan AKA Bob says:

    I lived on the corner of Central St. and Johnson St. I too remember Putz’s sundaes. Although my favorite was butterscotch. Steve Patruno would insist that we drink a glass of water with the sundae or else we wouldn’t be able to poop. It also had the effect of rinsing off the sticky butterscotch and kept the counter cleaner. Riding our bikes to the beach. The ultimate dare was to walk over the raised supports on the Danforth St. bridge.

  11. Vincent Mistretta says:

    I have sent information and pictures to the president of Friends of Saxonville.
    These were given to David L Dongden. I havent heard from him at all.
    I was born in 1925. Use my email to reply.

  12. Francis Rieger says:

    My grandfather. Joseph Florcyk, was a loom fixer/supervisor for the Roxbury Carpet company during the late twenties early thirties. He moved his family to Saxonville from Yonkers, NY where he had worked for Alexander Smiths Carpet. I grew up listening to my Mom tell stories of her family growing up in Saxonville where all seven kids were unanimous about it being the greatest place ot grow up. Loys of stories about winter activities, skating on the “rubber ice” (whatever that is) on the Sudbury River and singing in the choir. My mom was more than a little shocked when she returned to her final year in high school in Yonkers. Nice to know places like this really exist.

    My mom and here family grew up in Saxonville and

  13. M. Bernadette Aucoin-Carey says:

    I grew up on Central Street. Reading these contributions brings me right back to my childhood. Patruno’s ice cream sundae’s (haven’t had any since that tasted as good), and in later years memories of Harry’s Dairy Bar.
    Walking over the bridge and feeling the water spray my face as I walked to school each day was a treat I always enjoyed.

    Skating in the winter, exploring the woods, bicyling in the summer, off for a swim then to the Danforth Street Park for crafts and play. Ah yes. Living in Nova Scotia now, but returning home for a family reunion in October. Looking forward returning to Saxonville for a visit around the neighborhood.

  14. JIM MC NEILL says:

    I CAN STILL RECALL WALKING MY MOTHER HOME AFTER SHE HAD JUST WORKED AN 8 HOUR SHIFT AT THE ROXBURY CARPET CO. IN THE 1950s
    SHE WORKED THE 3 TO 11P.M. SHIFT .
    I THINK I WAS 14 AT THE TIME.
    BY THE WAY SHE WAS REAL GLAD TO SEE ME .
    LOVE NEVER DIES
    JIM 14 FULLER ST .

    • Steve Morton says:

      hey I know you..heheheee I grew up on Fuller st. as well I was at 16a and 12 . was a great time to grow up in Sax…
      SteveMorton

      • Jonnielynn Cox says:

        Hey! I know both of you guys! I lived on Fuller Street in the 60’s… Accross from the old McNeill house. I have great memories of playing outside with so many kids from Fuller Street, Mechanic St, Danforth St and Chestnut St… Getting candy at Putz, walking to Sax beach, Susie and Sandie Ramsey were my best friends back then and they still are today…. Would love to see a reunion!

        Jonnielynn Cox, 11 Fuller Street

      • joe heroux says:

        steve remember me

    • John Flynn says:

      Jim are you Peter and Paul’s brother?

  15. Marilyn says:

    Hi-I grew up in Framingham and went to North High Class 1975. My parents insist to this day that Famous Pizza has the best grinders. My first apt was near the bridge. My husband at the time worked for the Town. When the bridge would freeze it was overtime pay. I wasn’t too much a Sax Rat as they say but knew the kids well. I didn’t know that Patruno’s Package store was related to Steve Jr. until a few years ago. We would play hide and seek with our cars at night in the neighborhood off Water St. I am thinking of Steve P. today as I was in neighborhood. I went to say “hi” and give him some flowers. I think of him often.

    • Sandy says:

      Yes, Famous grinders, I remember them well! We would order them or pizzas on Saturday nights. Patrunos were our neighbors on Cherry St.

  16. Hi there – if any of you use Facebook, I’d love for you to post your memories, photos, etc on my page dedicated to living in Saxonville…you’ll find it at http://www.Facebook.com/Saxonville. Thanks!

  17. Judy Lombard says:

    I grew up in Saxonville too but in the 50’s. I loved it and love the memories of all the kids I grew up with on North Street. What fun we had.

  18. joe heroux says:

    ya i grew up across the street from roxbury carpet at the wall where all the kids sat on corner of central and water st. i remeber going to the old wooden school and playing baseball between both schools , and when we had to go to the dentist at the memorial bldg. they gave us a nickel and put us in front of the schhool by our selves and waited for the bus to come and bring us downtown that was insane

  19. Emily says:

    Oh my gosh. I grew up at 7 Elm Street. Above what was Patruno’s Store – which I’m learning more about now. The Patruno’s were our landlords until they passed, and his son took over. My brother is still living at the same apartment, now above the Chimney Sweeps (ugh!). I went to Stapleton School, too. :) As a kid, we had Cumberland Farms in the center where you could get candy bars for $.45. Gosh, I’m 34 and feeling old already! Thank you so much for sharing this info!

    • Liz says:

      Wow!! I am Emily’s mom. Tony and I moved there in 1978 and as Emily said my son is still in the same apartment. At that time we lived above The Castle Of Comfort also a chimney company. I even worked for Bev and Frank for a short time. I lived 28 years in apartment A and then I moved to apartment C with my mom for another year and a half. The Patruno family was so good to us! We were so lucky to have been able to stay in one place for so long and to have such wonderful landlords.

  20. Cindy Beaudin says:

    I loved growing up in Saxonville, Patruno’s sold Brownie bars, it was a chocolate covered, orange sherbert on a stick! yummy…

    • S. Robinson says:

      Ah, at last I found somebody that remembers Brownie Bars!
      I lived in the row house on Chestnut Place and went to Sax Elementary.
      Got all my baseball cards at Putz (who always asked if my mother knew that I was spending money on baseball cards). They had great root beer (Richardson’s in the big keg).
      I and friends would also make trips up to Twin Maple Farms, if the workers were in good moods, they would give us free milk (in the small glass bottles)
      Best Regards

      .

  21. John Flynn says:

    I lived on Central Street 1/2 mile up from the dam. My folks and most of the family worked at the mill or at the Dennison. Beverly and Barbara Kalinowski, Peter McNeil, Hootie Fenton, Snookie McDonald and my sister Gail are all gone but lots of the kids are scattered across the country. I live in Concord, MA for the last 50 years but still remember the fun that we had in Saxonville. growing up in the 40’s and 50’s. A much different world from what my grand children live in now.

  22. Regis McKernan (Petrozziello) says:

    I miss Saxonville. I grew up in the 60’s, moved in the mid 70’s. I lived on Little Farms Road, Famous Pizza, skating on Norton’s Pond, Patruno’s, Saxonville School, Sudbury River. Nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

